quote-a-man-with-a-conviction-is-a-hard-man-to-change-tell-him-you-disagree-and-he-turns-away-leon-festinger-76-28-20

A thought terminating cliché is a phrase used to avoid directly answer the substance of a question or even admitting there even is a legitimate question or should be an answer. They are sentences used dismiss dissent, to justify false logic, to avoid inconvenient evidence, and to put erroneous beliefs beyond challenge. It’s not possible that some Mormons use these techniques is it?

They say: “Doubt your doubts before you doubt your faith.”

My response: I prefer to resolve my doubts.

I can doubt my doubts all I like but I can’t doubt the facts, even if I did the facts would still be true.

If people never doubted their doubts about the religions they were brought up in Mormonism wouldn’t have any converts.

Note: Dieter Uchtdorf was quoting a Pentecostal faith healer named F.F. Bosworth, because Bosworth didn’t doubt his doubts he stayed a Pentecostalist his whole life.

“It’s not important for your salvation.”

I can’t trust my salvation to an organization that can’t answer this question.

It may not be important to your salvation, but it is to mine.

“We can’t judge behavior in the past by today’s standards. Things which seem wrong today weren’t so bad back then.”

How do we trust in a God who changes His mind about what is wrong and right? Or who leaves his people to do wrong without telling them?

“Your failure to keep the rules has led to your doubt. Focusing on fixing yourself rather than tearing down our faith.”

Are you saying that a person must be perfect to know whether this is true or not? Are you keeping every single rule?

“If you read more of our official publications, then you’ll understand. Your doubts are proof that you haven’t read and prayed enough.”

Would you suggest spending my life reading and praying about Islam to make sure that is true or false too?

It is the twenty years I spent reading official church books and praying that has led me to this conclusion. Isn’t that enough?

“You previously believed that this was true – you should trust that feeling and stop questioning it.”

I previously believed in Santa – are you suggesting I should trust that and not question it?

“That is a mystery which God uses to test our faith.”

Well then God has tested my faith with beliefs that contradict logic above what I consider reasonable.

“We don’t have all the facts.”

Maybe we don’t, maybe we do. The only way to be sure if to find out all the facts we can and see where they lead us.

“The church does a lot of good.”

Other churches do much more to help the needy, so wouldn’t it be better to join one of those instead?

“The church is a good place to raise children.”

A recent study showed atheist children do better in life, so for the sake of your children why not become an atheist?

“The spirit has told me it’s true.”

And those people who claim the spirit told them the opposite? Why should I trust what your feelings or what you tell me more than them?

“The church is perfect, the people aren’t.”

Was the church perfect when it told people to practice polygamy, or when it opposed civil rights for black people?

What is the church? Isn’t it made up of imperfect people?

“We will find the answers to your troubling questions in the afterlife – until then we must simply have faith.”

Would you say the same thing to a Baptist or Muslim who had questions?

 

“Our leader was only speaking as a man when he said that troubling or incorrect thing. You can trust what he says when he is speaking as our leader.”

What is the point of a prophet who you can’t rely on to teach correct doctrine?

Sometimes church president’s teachings have been declared false a hundred years later. Weren’t those following that leader wrong or right to trust them?

